Cantine des Dents Blanches

Champéry

Built in 1906 in the tranquil Barme valley, the Cantine des Dents Blanches was originally an alpine farm. Today it is a lovely mountain restaurant, popular with hikers and nature lovers.

The first time you discover Barme it's easy to think you've passed through the Pearly Gates. Starting from the place we call Grand Paradis, this bucolic alpine valley can be reached on foot or by car. By car, the narrow road winds several kilometres through thick forests and along steep mountainsides until, suddenly, there is a break in the trees and the valley appears, spread out below like an illustration right out of Heidi.

Nestled in a sunny spot near a bubbling stream with the formidable Barme climbing rock at its back, the Cantine des Dents Blanches is a favourite stop for epicureans in search of local specialties, families out for a Sunday stroll and weary hikers on the Tour des Dents Blanches.

For overnight stays, our simple refuge provides 3 rooms with 2 beds, 1 family room with a double bed and 2 beds for children, 1 dormitory with 5 beds, 1 dormitory with 4 beds and 1 dormitory with 15 beds. There is a loo and washbasin upstairs (cold water) and a hot shower on the ground floor (on request but with no extra charge).

From fondue and cheese on toast to platters of cured meats, grilled steaks and homemade desserts served up in our cosy dining room and on the large, sunny terrace, we take pride in our homemade, locally-sourced cuisine. We also offer a large selection of delicious regional wines.

The Barme Valley can be reached by a narrow mountain road from Grand Paradis (about 25 minutes by car). Hikers can reach us via any number of hiking trails (about 1h30 from Champéry).

Lodgings include :

3 rooms with 2 beds : Cheuvreuils (ground floor) - Ecureuils - Oursons
1 room with 1 double bed and 2 beds for kids : Mouflons
1 dormitory with 5 beds : Marmottes
1 dormitory with 4 beds : Chamois
1 dormitory with 15 beds : Bouquetins

Loo and sink on the same level (cold water), shower with hot water on the ground floor (on request but at no additional cost).

Facilities Facilities

  • Animals welcome
  • On-site parking
  • Restaurant

Hours

payment

  • Cash

See also

Cantine des Dents Blanches

Champéry

La Cantine est un chalet d'alpage dont l'origine remonte à 1906. Transformé au fil du temps il est devenu maintenant un restaurant et un gîte très apprécié des amoureux de la nature et de la montagne.

Difficile de ne pas se croire au paradis quand on atteint Barme, au-dessus de Champéry, après avoir suivi sur plusieurs kilomètres une route de montagne qui serpente à travers la forêt. Entouré de pâturages, couvert de pelouses constellées de fleurs à la belle saison, cet immense plateau offre une vue à couper le souffle sur les massifs des Dents du Midi et des Dents Blanches.

Idéalement située dans ce décor à la Heidi, la cantine des Dents Blanches séduit l'amateur de bons petits plats autant que les amoureux ou encore les familles qui pourront prolonger leur séjour dans ce cadre enchanteur en y passant la nuit.

Nous vous proposons 3 chambres à 2 lits, 1 chambre avec lit parental et 2 lits pour enfants, 1 dortoir 5 places, 1 dortoir 4 places et 1 dortoir 15 places. Toilette et lavabo à l'étage (eau froide), douche chaude au rez (sur demande et sans supplément de prix).

Fondues, croûtes au fromage, assiettes valaisannes, viandes grillées et desserts maison vous serons servis en salle ou sur une belle et grande terrasse. Et pour accompagner votre repas, divers vins originaux de la région choisis avec soin vous sont proposés.

Une route de montagne vous conduira du Grand-Paradis jusqu’au plateau de Barme (compter environ 20 minutes en voiture). Pour les randonneurs, plusieurs sentiers pédestres et itinéraires permettent de nous rejoindre (compter environ 1h30 depuis Champéry).

Nous vous proposons :

3 chambres à 2 lits : Cheuvreuils (au rez) - Ecureuils - Oursons
1 chambre avec lit parental et 2 lit pour enfants : Mouflons
1 dortoir 5 places : Marmottes
1 dortoir 4 places : Chamois
1 dortoir 15 places : Bouquetins

Toilette et lavabo à l'étage (eau froide), douche chaude au rez (sur demande et sans supplément de prix).

Equipements Equipements

  • Animaux admis
  • Parking sur place
  • Restaurant

Horaires

Mode de paiement

  • Espèces

Voir aussi